

## Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

533 Airport Boulevard, Suite 200 • Burlingame, California 94010 (650) 696-1060 • Fax (650) 696-1867 mail@acswasc.org • www.acswasc.org

Fred Van Leuven, Ed.D.

President

MARILYN S. GEORGE, ED.D. Vice President

## COMMISSION MEMBERS

DAMON KERBY

Chairperson

California Association of Independent
Schools

BARRY GROVES Vice Chairperson Association of California School

Administrators

THOMAS ADAMS
California Department of Education

SAMANTHA BENISH California Federation of Teachers

GRANT BENNETT Association of California Schoo Administrators

RON CARRUTH Association of California School Administrators

STEPHEN CATHERS East Asia Regional Council of Schools

CHAD COLDEN Western Catholic Educational Association

NANCY COONIS Western Catholic Educational Association

ERIKA CRUZ Pacific Islands

CHASE DAVENPORT Charter Schools

MITCHELL D'OLIER Public Member, Hawaii

ODIE DOUGLAS Association of California School Administrators

JOSEPH DUGAN Public Member, California

GREGORY FRANKLIN Association of California School Administrators

DAVID GAUDI

Hawaii Association of Independent Schools JOHN KERR

Postsecondary Education
ANN MAHI

ANN MAHI Hawaii State Department of Education

MICHAEL McCOY Association of California School Administrators

DEREK MINAKAMI Hawaii Government Employees' Association

SUZANNE MULCAHY Hawaii State Department of Education

BARBARA NUNES California School Boards Association

DALE PHILLIPS Association of Christian Schools International

LAUREL SALERNO-WHITE California Teachers Association

MARSHA SERAFIN California Association of Private School Organizations

SALLY TODD Western Catholic Educational Association

BERIT VON POHLE
Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day
Adventists

JOEL WAHLERS National Lutheran School Accreditation

SOPHIA WAUGH California Congress of Parents and Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

DORIS YAMASHIRO-TANAKA Hawaii State Teachers Association

DAVID YOSHIHARA Association of California School Administrators May 1, 2017

Mr. Dean Cevallos Principal Kea'au High School 16-725 Kae'au-Pahoa Road Kea'au, HI 96749

Dear Mr. Cevallos:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Spring 2017 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined Kea'au High School (9 - 12) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the self-study report, and the satisfactory completion of the on-site accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant Six-Year Accreditation Status with a Mid-cycle One-day Visit through June 30, 2023.

Kea'au High School is required to prepare a Mid-cycle Progress Report for the Mid-cycle Visit. The report and visit should demonstrate that the school has:

- Addressed the critical areas for follow-up through the schoolwide action plan;
- Made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and
- Improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon Kea'au High School's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members from the school staff or district to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation.

May 1, 2017 Kea'au High School Page 2

The Commission looks forward to Kea'au High School's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

Damon Kerby

Commission Chairperson

cc: Ms. Kathryn Matayoshi, Superintendent, Hawaii State DOE

Mr. Stephen Schatz, Deputy Superintendent

Mrs. Shelley Ferrara, Director of School Transformation Branch, Hawaii Public Schools

Complex-Area Superintendent

Jamon (certy

Visiting Committee Chairperson